Todays lecture was revolved around images of decay, we were shown a lot of still images by Kevin Bauman who photographed abandoned houses in Detroit.

“The abandoned houses project began innocently enough roughly ten years ago. I actually began photographing abandonment in Detroit in the mid 90’s as a creative outlet, and as a way of satisfying my curiosity with the state of my home town. I had always found it to be amazing, depressing, and perplexing that a once great city could find itself in such great distress, all the while surrounded by such affluence.” – Kevin Bauman.

Flicking through his website, I realised that anything can be brought to life even on still images. Everything has a story behind it. I think that he has captured beauty even though the houses are falling apart.

During further research, I have looked into Bauman’s inspirational photographers. He particularly likes  Michael Kenna, Bernd and Hill Becher, and Robert Polidori. I am really drawn to the fact that anyone can be influenced towards a certain agenda because of inspiration. I feel that influence plays a powerful role in people. Allowing them to learn and grow towards a particular sector.

Judging from the work of his greatest influences…

…you can see that Bauman was largely drawn to photography of buildings, decay and industry which is obvious in his own work.

